Essaouira Mogador is a town at the Atlantic coast of Morocco

En langue française



Islamic calendar


Islamic Calendar

1. Muharram
2. Safar
3. Rabi' al-awwal
4. Rabi' al-thani
5. Jumada al-awwal
6. Jumada al-thani
7. Rajab
8. Sha'aban
9. Ramadan
10. Shawwal
11. Dhu al-Qi'dah
12. Dhu al-Hijjah

Important dates in the Islamic (Hijri) year are:

1 Muharram (Islamic New Year/Hijri)
12 Rabi al Awal (Mawlid an Nabi or Eid Mouloud)
27 Rajab (Isra and Miraj)
15 Sha'ban (Mid-Sha'ban,or Night of Forgiveness)
1 Ramadan (first day of fasting)
Last third of Ramadan
which includes Laylat al-Qadr
1 Shawwal (Eid al-Fitr)
8-13 Dhu al-Hijjah (the Hajj to Mecca)
10 Dhu al-Hijjah (Eid al-Adha)

Measurement of time begins July 16 622 AD . when the Prophet Muhammad moved from Mecca to Medina (Hijra =arabic, emigration or escape). Originally, the difference between the Muslim and the Western calendar was 622 years, but it has now fallen to around 579 since an Islamic year is shorter. 2011 AD is 1432 AH (anno hegirae)


The Islamic calendar (it is known also as Muslim calendar or Hijri calendar) is a lunar calendar based on 12 lunar months in a year of 354 or 355 days, used to date events in many Muslim countries (together with the Gregorian calendar), and used by Muslims as guidance to celebrate their holy days and festivals.

Its first year was the year during which the Hijra, i.e. the emigration of the Islamic prophet Muhammad from Mecca to Medina, occurred. Each numbered year is designated either H or AH. A limited number of years before Hijra (BH) are used to date events related to Islam, such as the birth of Muhammad in 53 BH.

A hijri or Islamic lunar year is between 10 and 12 days shorter than a Gregorian year.

Though they share 12 lunar cycles—months—per solar year, the Hijri calendar uses actual moon phases to mark them, whereas the Gregorian calendar adjusts its nearly lunar months to synchronize with the sun.

For religious purposes months are defined to start with the first observation of the crescent of the new Moon.

Date Conversion 
Gregorian to Hijri Hijri to Gregorian
Day: Month: Year








Islamic calendar
Eid al Adha
Eid el Kebir